I Wish You Wrinkles – A Dedication

21 Dec

I’m proud to announce that I’ve started guest blogging for Jersey Moms Blog and my first entry titled “I Wish You Wrinkles – A Perspective on Aging” published today.  I hope it serves as a reminder that time, all time, is a blessing.  And though she’s going to be annoyed with me for this because she hates attention, I dedicate that entry to one of my super heroines, my mother-in-law.  I’ll explain of course…

Our family recently lost our top, top superhero.  It’s still hard to believe that my father-in-law lost his battle against cancer.  After all, we never expect that our heroes won’t be around to fight the next battle.   He held on longer than any doctor expected, and I believe that he drew all that energy and will from his special sources of life – his wife, and the sons they raised together.   It’s hard to recognize our own strengths sometimes.   But through all of this my mom-in-law’s superpower emerged – amazing bravery.  She got her family through its darkest time quietly, selflessly and with great courage. like a true superhero.

And so I dedicate this article on Jersey Moms Blog  to her.  I know, mothers-in-law are supposed to be our villains, but that isn’t the case in my family.  At least not unless she’s disguising herself as a nice mom-in-law… now THAT would be a villain power many would envy even more than her bravery!

 

getting-older-perspective-on-aging

Grandpa & Lucas

6 Responses to “I Wish You Wrinkles – A Dedication”

  1. Sandie lee December 31, 2010 at 8:19 AM #

    I’m sorry for your lose =(

    Sandie lee

  2. Kristin M December 25, 2010 at 12:58 AM #

    Beautiful post Marcela. I love the picture too.

  3. Helen Bernstein December 21, 2010 at 12:20 PM #

    I know Lucas was a gift beyond anything else you could have given your father and mother-in-law. Having a loving daughter-in-law like you was a blessing. Take comfort in knowing that.

  4. Dani Fiori December 21, 2010 at 10:19 AM #

    So sweet- sniff sniff! :(
    Congrats on the Jersey Moms Blog! Great article!
    xo

  5. Debbie Hogue December 21, 2010 at 9:24 AM #

    Mar, I have always felt blessed to be a part of this family. The Hogue’s, Gaterman’s , Shine’s. What a wonderful family they are. And Pat, what a good husband, father, father-in-law and most of all Grandpa. We all will help the Grandchildren know their Grandpa through all our memories. We are keeping all of you in our prayers.

  6. amy December 21, 2010 at 8:09 AM #

    Marcela, you are simply an amazing person. I know that Mrs Shine feels so blessed to have you as a daughter in law. I will read the blog later as you already have me crying. Hope to see you while you’re in town and I hope the lifetime of memories sees everyone through the Holiday.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

